The Canadian Police Curling Association
by Cpl. S. Harbin
reprinted from the RCMP Quarterly, July 1956


CURLING has become an extremely popular sport in recent years throughout Canada, and most people, particularly policemen, participate at some time during their lives. Two provinces, Alberta and Manitoba, have for some time had their own Provincial Police Curling Association, but all provinces have, in the past, had their own Annual police Bonspiels. These have met with enthusiastic approval of those participating and each year the police bonspiel is keenly anticipated.

In 1955 an idea, which had been born some considerable time earlier, began to materialize and the Canadian Police curling Association came into being. The originators of the idea asked that one team of policemen represent each of the provinces and railway police departments. Three trophies were put up for annual competition and were designated as follows: N.R. Crump Trophy-first prize; L.H. Nicholson Trophy-second prize; C.A.C.P. Trophy-third prize.

For the inaugural year it was found geographically convenient to stage the bonspiel in Winnipeg and, accordingly, eight teams congregated and locked brooms on March 12, at the now famous Granite Curling Club. An exceptionally cool and skilful team from Moose Jaw City Police emerged as master of the "roaring game". Close on their heels came another fine foursome from Kenora, representing the Ontario Provincial Police, who had to come from a long way behind Manitoba in order to cart off the L.H. Nicholson Trophy. Last but not least came a strong aggregation of CNR men who captured the C.A.C.P. Trophy.

A delicious banquet followed a day of the keenest competition and, after the games had been rehashed several times in true "curler fashion" eight teams of tired but happy curlers directed their paths homeward.